Attitude Is Everything

July 5, 2010

“It’s how you react to events, not the events
themselves, that determines your attitude.
Any challenge facing you is not as important
as your attitude towards it, for that will
determine your success or failure.” Max Steingart

We hear every day about the importance of a positive attitude. For me, however, this is something of a challenge. Maybe it is for you, too? We all have a close friend or family member who wants to make sure we keep our feet on the ground. We all have that negative self-talk to beat ourselves up when we make a mistake or have a set back. Some days are easier than others, too-things just seem to flow. Other days….., well, maybe the less said the better! It’s important to realize that our attitudes come down to a choice. I can look for the positive, even if it’s trying to figure out the lesson I’ve learned from experiencing a failure. I can choose to be happy, to believe in myself, in spite of those negative voices in my head. The alternative is to choose the sink into the mire of negative thinking, believing that I can’t achieve my goals, can’t be successful. Somehow, although it may be easier, the negative option is just not the route I want to go. As Jim Rohn said,
“We created our circumstances by our past choices. We have both the ability and the responsibility to make better choices  beginning today.” Every day, I have the option to choose a positive outlook, to believe in myself. Can you imagine what life would be like that if we each made that choice every day? What an amazing place the world would be!

One Response to “Attitude Is Everything”

  1. Lynne Keane said

    Thanks, Lauren!

    Yes, I can imagine what life would be like if I chose a positive outlook and to believe in myself. The first think I must face is those people who “want to make sure I keep my feet on the ground”. They are my feet and what is it to you? I hear it again and again from Napoleon Hill to John DiLemme that we must shed our lives of those people. If we are related to them, we can limit time or choices of conversation but boundaries must be set.

    I am typing this to myself as much as anyone else! Let’s make that amazine place in the world!

Leave a Reply

